Maryam Nawaz "vacates" the seat in NA-119

By Asif Ali

| Published Feb 23, 2024 | 11:12 a.m.

LAHORE: Maryam Nawaz, a prominent organizer for the Pakistan Muslim League (PML-N) and a contender for chief minister of Punjab, relinquished the NA-119 Lahore seat.

Maryam Nawaz, who is expected to become Punjab's first female chief minister, resigned from NA-119 and sent a letter to the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), according to party insiders.

The PML-N leader would maintain PP-159 to succeed him as Punjab province's chief minister, according to sources

. She defeated independent candidate Sharafat Ali Khan, endorsed by the PTI, who received 21,491 votes, to win the PP-189 seat in Lahore with 23,598 votes.

Shehbaz Sharif, the president of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), had already said that Maryam Nawaz, the top organizer of the party, would be their nominee for Punjab's chief minister position.

It is relevant to note that today (Friday) is the first day of the Punjab Assembly's inaugural session, during which the recently elected MPAs will take the oath of office.

Soon after the general elections on February 8, Punjab Governor Muhammad Balighur Rehman called an inaugural session of the Punjab Assembly.

The elected legislators will take an oath from Punjab Assembly Speaker Sabatin Khan to officially become members of the legislature.

In the meantime, the timetable for choosing the next speaker and deputy speaker of the house will be made public.

Strict security measures are implemented in the meantime to prevent any unforeseen incidence. Over 500 police officers have been stationed in the vicinity of the Punjab Assembly structure. In addition, Anti-Riots Dolphin Force, water cannon vehicles, and APCs are used.